Béla Bartók: Mikrokosmos

Béla Bartók’s Mikrokosmos (German for Microcosm) Sz. 107, BB 105 consists of 153 progressive piano pieces in six volumes written between 1926 and 1939. The individual pieces progress from very easy and simple beginner études to very difficult advanced technical displays, and are used in modern piano lessons and education. In total, according to Bartók, the piece “appears as a synthesis of all the musical and technical problems which were treated and in some cases only partially solved in the previous piano works.”

All of the six volumes progress in difficulty, namely:

  • Volumes I-II: Pieces 1-36 and 37-66, beginner level
  • Volumes III-IV: Pieces 67-96 and 97-121, moderate to advanced level
  • Volumes V-VI: 122-139 and 140-153, professional level (more here)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s